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“Alone we can do so little; 
together we can do so much.”

-Helen Keller



Presentation Goals

• To provide a basic overview of the average
West Virginia Workers’ Compensation claim.

— Briefly discuss the benefits available to claimants
under a workers’ compensation claim.

— Generally address claim costs for benefits.



What laws govern West Virginia 
Workers’ Compensation?

• Statute: West Virginia Code Chapter 23 – W. Va.
Code 23-1-1 et al.+

— http://www.legis.state.wv.us/



Regulations
• 85 C.S.R. § 1- Claims Management and

Administration
• 85 C.S.R. § 5 – Permanent Total Disability
• 85 C.S.R. § 8 – Workers’ Compensation Policies,

Coverage Issues, Policy Defaults and Related Topics
• 85 C.S.R. § 12 – Compromise and Settlement of

Workers’ Compensation Issues
• 85 C.S.R. § 15 – Vocational and Physical

Rehabilitation
• 85 C.S.R. § 20 – Medical Management of Claims,

Guidelines for Impairment Evaluations, Evidence,
and Ratings, and Ranges of Permanent Partial
Disability Awards

• 85 C.S.R. § 21 – Managed Health Care Plans
• 85 C.S.R. § 27 – Qualified Rehabilitation Provider



An overview

Types of Claims



Defended Claims

• Occupational Injury
• Occupational Disease
• Occupational Pneumoconiosis
• Occupational Hearing Loss



Common Protests 

• Denial of Compensability

• Temporary Total Disability Closure or Reopening Denial

• Medical Treatment Denial

• Vocational Rehabilitation Denial

• Permanent Partial Disability Award

• Permanent Total Disability Threshold



Compensability

• Bases for Denial:

• No injury in the course of (time, place) and
resulting from (causation) covered employment
(job duties):

• Untimely as not filed within 6 months of the date
of injury.



New Injury Claim

• Claims Adjuster must rule on claim’s (other than
OP) within 15 working days of receipt of properly
completed form.

• Claims Adjuster may toll the time to rule on
compensability during evidence gathering process.

• Claims Adjuster needs all related documents from
the employer immediately upon receipt of a claim.



Compensability Factors

• Did the claimant immediately seek medical
treatment?

• Did the claimant give immediate notice (within 2
working days) to the employer of the alleged
injury?

• Did anyone witness the alleged injury?



Compensability Factors Cont. 

• Lock claimant into a story regarding the
alleged injury.

• Have a designated safety manager or request
an insurance carrier investigator.

• Detailed account including photos.



Compensability Factors Cont. 

• Does the employer have photos of the accident
scene?

• Did the employer investigate and obtain
statements?

• Is there a prior work-related injury history?

• Is there information related to non-
compensable conditions?



Temporary Total Disability

• TTD paid until the claimant reaches maximum
medical improvement (MMI) or is released to return
to work.

• TTD suspended upon finding of MMI, release to
return to work, or abuse (engaging in activity).

• TTD closure after 30 days following suspension –
claimant may protest this order.

• Receive TTD if unable to work more than 3
calendar days following date of injury.



Temporary Total Disability Cont. 

• Current weekly TTD maximum rate in
WV is $787.06.

• Typical simple back sprain receives TTD for at
least 4-8 weeks, which equals $3,148.24 -
$6,296.48.

• MRI done in majority of low back claims.



Medical Treatment

• Approve medical treatment that is reasonable
and necessary for the compensable
condition(s).

• Rule 20 at 85 C.S.R. §20 provides guidelines for
medical treatment of specific conditions –
duration of reasonable care, diagnostic
testing, etc.



Medical Treatment Decisions

• Treatment request must be made by an
approved provider within network and
approved as a treating physician.

• Must be related to a covered condition.

• Has there been a finding of MMI?



Managed Health Care Plans

• 85 C.S.R. § 21 authorizes private carriers to
employ the use of a Managed Health Care Plan.
Includes minimum plan standards and
requirements.

• Contains a “grievance” procedure.



Managed Health Care Plans Cont. 

• The claimant or medical provider may file a
grievance to denial for treatment.

• Zurich’s Managed Care Organization (MCO)
refers the grievance for review by a medical
provider (UR).

• The medical provider gives an opinion on
treatment requests.



Narcotics

• Pain management with scheduled medications
is not uncommon in injury claims.

• Oxydone prescriptions increased 588% from
1997 - 2005. Methadone prescriptions
increased 933% during the same timeframe.

• United States uses 80% of world’s opioids and
we have only 4.6% of world’s population.



Narcotics Cont. 

• Earlier opioid use in a workers’ compensation 
claim leads to higher overall costs.

• More opioids prescribed in a claim - medical 
and indemnity costs increase.  

• Adverse long term use including immune 
system suppression.   



Narcotics Cont. 

• 3 out of 4 workers’ compensation patients will 
get a prescription for opioids based on a 2014 
study.

• Increase based on physician’s lack of
time/knowledge and drug company
misinformation.

• Patient knowledge and entitlement.



Narcotics Cont. 

• Control costs with monitoring database and
rehab measures including urine drug test.

• Mandatory tapering of narcotics.

• Pushing for caps on amount of Medicare Set-
Aside for opioids.

• Employer should have close relationship with
treating physicians.



Vocational Rehabilitation

• It is a shared goal to return an injured worker to
suitable gainful employment.

• Return to the same employer with or without
retraining to pre-injury or different job with
modifications of either.



Return To Work Statistics

• Return to Work (RTW) programs can help control
workers’ compensation costs.

• The longer an employee is off work, the harder it is
to return to full duty employment.

• Employees who return to work in a modified or
alternate duty capacity are likely to recover more
quickly and with less impairment.

• RTW early improves productivity and morale.



Return To Work Statistics Cont. 

• Return to work programs:

—Written policy;

—Identify a few people that will work on RTW with
the employee;

—Supervisors instead of HR persons;

—Specific job descriptions;

—Create a bank of jobs that you can do with
certain restrictions.



Return To Work Statistics Cont. 

Job offer letters:

1. Released to RTW – list restrictions;

2. Job coming back to – pre-injury or new;

3. Salary – hourly wage;

4. Contact person from the employer;

5. Time frame to contact the employer;

6. Start date for RTW;

7. Copy letter to claimant’s counsel, if applicable;

8. Include a line at the bottom for the employee to
sign if he/she is accepting the offered position.



Return To Work Statistics Cont. 

• Early intervention with claims management
meetings.

• Statistics show that 90% of workers want to come
back and be kept engaged.

• Employees can save their vacation/sick pay if RTW
in transitional work.

• Would you return an employee to work if you were
assessed a weekly fine during time off?



• RTW at modified duty. If the pay is less than the
pre-injury wage, workers’ compensation claim pays
70% of the difference between pre-injury and post-
disability wage.

• Workers’ compensation claim would pay much less
than the rate that could be paid of nearly $800 per
week.

• 50% chance to RTW if off 6 months; decreases to
25% if off 12 months.

Return To Work Statistics Cont. 



Permanent Partial Disability

• PPD ratings are done under AMA Guides, Fourth Edition, for
all injuries.

• Rule 20 provides PPD rating categories.

• OP, hearing loss, psychiatric, and loss by severance are
covered by specific statute or guidelines.

• Each % of PPD costs 4 weeks at the disability rate – current
weekly maximum is $550.94. 1% at max rate is $2,203.76.



Permanent Partial Disability 
Litigation 

• PPD protests are the most common.

• Each Independent Medical Evaluation (IME) or physician
review costs money under the claim.



QUESTIONS?  


